Tune Your Sanshin with Sankichi-kun


Looks like one of our visitors found Karakui through a search with the keywords “okinawan sanshin tuning”. I could possibly upload an mp3 (or m4a) file of my tuning of a sanshin but it’ll be a whole lot cooler to download this wonderful freeware app called “Sankichi-kun” (available versions for Mac OS 9, Mac OS X, and Windows). I’m a Mac user so I can tell you guys that it works awesomely on a G4 Mac (I assume it’ll work just as well on an Intel Mac too), but PC guys are on your own (sorry).

6 thoughts on “Tune Your Sanshin with Sankichi-kun

  1. Pingback: Searched « Karakui

  2. I just got my sanshin and It came with a kit but I am not very good at reading kanji are there any websites that I might use to learn about the basics in english.

  3. Mrcookingpt: Websites in English about anything Okinawa is very limited but it’s something that we’re definitely working on. May it be uploading instructional clips to YouTube or creating a Podcast in the future (yup, I wish I could do this full-time). If you have any questions about the sanshin, feel free to email me at karakuipress [at] gmail [dot] com. 😉

Leave a Reply

