What Do These Three Have in Common?


  1. Konishiki – a retired sumo wrestler and popular celeb
  2. Rimi Natsukawa – one of Japan’s top vocalists
  3. Jake Shimabukuro – ukulele player extraordinaire

The answer? An hour-long music special called “Melody Club” that I still hear people raving about although it aired on Hawaii’s KIKU-TV station on January 7, 2007. (The lowdown on the show: it’s actually an episode from an NHK music program called “Ongaku · Yume Kurabu [Club]” that aired in Japan from April 7, 2005 to March 23, 2006.) I know there are a lot of you out there who missed it and I think KIKU-TV knows it too so they will be rebroadcasting the special on Friday, February 23, at 9:00 PM. (By the way, the video above is from the show. Check out more like this on YouTube.)

3 thoughts on “What Do These Three Have in Common?

  1. My wife and I watch “Challengers of Fire” on KIKU every Friday, so it was only by happenstance that I just finished watching the 2/23/07 “Melody Club” encore. I immediately Googled the show to find out more about it. Too bad that seems to be about all we’ll get from this show.

  2. I was down with the flu and not checking on my usual sites, so I didn’t read about this until yesterday. If only I’d known, I would have asked my cousin in Honolulu to record it for me! Oh well, thank goodness for You Tube!

Leave a Reply

